
Backlash! The latest brouhaha began brewing when Robert Pattinson showed up to Sunday’s 81st Annual Academy Awards without the “Twilight” leading lady on his arm. As fans know, from the MTV Movie Awards to Comic-Con and various other events throughout 2009, it was extremely rare to see one actor making a publicity appearance without the other nearby. Immediately, rumors began circulation that there was more to KStew’s conspicuous absence than met the eye.
Sure enough, when the 18-year-old’s father John Stewart (no, not that one) showed up on the red carpet, the TV producer was approached by the incomparable Billy Bush. George W.’s cousin asked Kristen’s dad why she wasn’t presenting with RPattz, and his answer was as honest as it was shocking. - ext. MTV
With her recent interview with Nylon and her dad’s comment regarding her Oscar absence, some Twilight fans are disappointed with Kristen Stewart. Kristen, in an interview with Nylon Magazine, was quoted saying that the Twilight promotional tour were “psychotic situations” and that she has always been asked “bull***t questions”. To top that, according to her dad, Kristen will only attend the Oscars “When it’s a great movie, not just one that makes a lot of money.”
Commenters had both harsh and understanding criticism to share:
wolfbane:: Kristen needs to get her head out of the clouds. I've been a supporter of hers since the beginning and now that i heard about this i turned a complete one-eighty. Has she ever thought that maybe Twilight wasn't good because her acting was only sub-par? I mean, the only good thing she did in the role was when she got bit. And as for the fans, yes i admit alot of the questions are stupid, but she has to think that alot of those fans are 12 year old girls and most of the questions are all in good fun. If she can't handle that then she stepped into the wrong career and into the wrong film franchise. And by the way Kristen, maybe you should think about the fact that the fans are funding your damn paycheck.
popsicle14:: Wow! She's the biggest snob in Hollywood.
Ash:: So she swears every now and then…whoopdie do. People don’t have to like her, she isn’t looking for anyone’s approval, as we have seen/heard. She ultimately makes her own decisions. We can’t fault her, cause we DON’T know her…but you should respect her a bit for not being a ‘stereotypical’ young Hollywood actress.
So how do you feel about Kristen? Does she deserve the backlash, or is she entitled to the way she reacted?